Is It Summer Yet?

16 02 2010

I’m normally not one to complain because I know that complaining typically doesn’t get you anywhere.  I enjoy winter and absolutely love the snow, but I’m ready for some warmer weather.  Not because I am sick of the snow or want better driving conditions, but because I want better running conditions.

My running club holds track workouts on Thursdays when the weather is better and I cannot wait to join them!  I have always done track workouts on my own or with my good friend Matt but with a group of people I always end up pushing myself harder and in turn, get a better workout.  My ultimate goal is to qualify for Boston and I know that track workouts are one way to make myself faster.

On top of being able to run on the track, I love being able to go out in shorts and a t-shirt and breaking out in a full sweat.  The snow doesn’t stop me at all from running (hence my Running in a Blizzard experience) but it can make running a little more difficult.

I’m really glad that I live far enough north to experience the seasons.  I’m always looking forward to the next season and the change in the air.  Each season has its own meaning to me in terms of running.  Winter is the offseason, spring is training and round 1 of marathon running, summer is training season, and fall is round 2 of marathon running.  I think that if I lived down south I would miss being able to feel a huge difference between the seasons.  My friend Eric lives in Florida and loves it, but I have this feeling that I would miss the seasons.  Plus, you never know what the weather is going to be like on marathon day, so being able to train in the snow, rain, wind, sun, heat, etc. helps prepare me for any season.

Spring will be here soon and then I’ll be anxiously awaiting summer!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

