Three-Day Weekend

15 02 2010

Thank you very much to all the President’s who I owe this day off to.  I love federal holidays because it means that most of the time I are off work!  There is something special about a three-day weekend and it isn’t just that you get a day off of work.  It’s an extra day to get your chores, errands, and training done.  Most people tend to always do some of the same things every weekend.  For Laura and I, we always go to church and do some cleaning.  For me it always means my group run on Saturday morning (unless there is a race).  A holiday means you get one extra day to get things done, and the day is completely open because you don’t have any of your repetitive weekend activities to get in the way.

Monday is always my cross training day, so I woke up and went to the gym for 30 minutes on the bike.  It feels great letting the legs get in a solid workout without having to pound the pavement for a few miles.  After my ride, I lifted for about a half hour.  I have been getting more and more into lifting weights in an attempt to help my running.  Help my running?  Yeah, you heard me right.  Your upper body is crucial to your success as a runner even though you probably had no idea.  Don’t believe me?  Try jogging while keeping your hands in your pockets.  It’s extremely difficult and you aren’t very efficient.  If you think back to some of your runs, you’ll probably remember your arms getting really tired towards the end and your form getting worse and worse.  It’s because you don’t have enough upper body strength to make it through the workout.  Your upper body helps propel you through the miles you are running, especially when you are tired.  By paying attention to your upper body, you can in turn help your running performance!  Maybe I need to do a post solely about this in the future.

Anyways, I am glad to have this extra day to get things done.  I had a nice solid workout, and now I going to go buy running shoes for Laura, drop things off at Goodwill, clean the apartment, do some laundry, read, and go volunteer tonight with the Knights of Columbus.  It feels great to get so much accomplished in a day and I challenge you to make the most of your day off as well!  Just remember: a day doing nothing is a day wasted!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 02 2010
Denise

ok, sorry if I already asked this…but i see broad street, philly marathon, etc on your side bar. looks like we’re neighbors!!

15 02 2010
Denise

oh, and as for the yak trax…i’m not sure that was it that hurt my back but it’s the only thing that was different last week. it’s feeling a little better tonight so i’m hoping it’s turning around…gotta a race this wknd!

Leave a Reply

