PowerBar Gel Chocolate

14 02 2010

On yesterday’s 12.5 mile run I had the opportunity to try PowerBar Gel Chocolate.  I always end up getting free samples of products at the various expos for my races or I grab some at the finish line refuel areas.  Since I was running a decent distance, I knew that I needed some fuel midway, so I decided to try the gel.

The claim to fame for PowerBar gels is that they are the first gel to to provide the carbs and electrolytes of a high end sports drink, and that they contain 4 times the sodium of leading competitors.  They have 120 calories, 1.5g of fat, 200mg of sodium, 40mg of potassium, 28g of carbs, and 10g of sugar.

The gel went down very easy and had an excellent taste to it.  It also contains caffeine, but caffeine never has an effect on me so I did not notice the addition of it.  In fact, the gel was so good that many people might confuse it as candy!  They cost around $1.37 each, which is about the average price for gu’s or gel’s.

The second half of my run went great, and this formula really seemed to play a crucial role in my success.  This was the first time I have ever tried PowerBar Gels and I am very impressed.  I am very excited to try some of the other flavors that PowerBar makes and once I do, I’ll be sure to write a review on it.  I give the PowerBar Gel Chocolate an 8.5 out of 10.  You might be wondering why I took any points off because I did not say anything negative about the product.  The reason why I took points off is because I prefer more than 120 calories in my energy foods.  I definitely recommend it though!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

