Cold, Dark, & Rainy

23 02 2010

Tonight was the perfect night for a duck!  It has been raining all day and of course it did not let up when it was time for my group run tonight.  I had to pump myself up for it because I wasn’t too thrilled about running 5.4 miles in the dark with pouring rain and a 36 degree temperature.

I knew I was going to get wet tonight, but my goal was to try to avoid as many puddles as possible.  That didn’t last long though because I stepped out of the car and about 10 yards later I stepped in a really deep puddle which completely submerged both of my shoes.  There goes that goal!  Oh well, I wasn’t going to let that stop me.

Not as many people showed up for the run tonight, just like I expected, but it gave me lots of motivation knowing that there were a good handful of other people who were going to take on the elements with me.  We took off and I knew we were moving at a fast pace because I was having a difficult time trying to keep a conversation.  At that pace, I didn’t think I could last more than 2 miles, but decided to see how long I could hang on.  The miles slowly ticked by and it wasn’t until we were at mile 3 that I slowly started fading back.  My goal quickly turned to not getting lost because I don’t know the course yet so I didn’t want to lose sight of the guys in front of me.  I managed to keep them in sight all the way to the finish!

Somehow I managed to rock out a 38:45 time, which is 3 minutes faster than I have ever ran that course before!  I don’t know what it was, but I somehow was able to push myself hard enough to cut off 3 minutes.  Talk about some great motivation heading into the week!  They say running builds confidence both while you are running and in life, and I can definitely attest to that.


Actions

Information

2 responses

25 02 2010
Keri

I always feel hardcore when I run in the rain. I forget where I read this but there is a quote that goes: “The hardest part of running in the rain is getting wet.” Awesome time, especially in the rain.

25 02 2010
David Yingling

I agree! I feel hardcore whenever I run in the rain or during any weather when people driving by shake their head or say, “You are crazy!” And I love the quote too Keri, thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment